Posted 5 years ago by Matt Richardson

Southern Regional Aquaculture Center

Level: Junior Apprentice

1 growers found this helpful

The Southern Regional Aquaculture Center (SRAC) is one of five regional aquaculture centers established by Congress. The designated regions are Tropical/SubtropicalWestern,NortheasternNorth Central, and Southern. Authorization for establishment of these Centers by USDA was provided in Title XIV of the Agriculture & Food Act of 1980 and the Food Security Act of 1985 (Subtitle L, Section 1475[d]). SRAC began organizational activities in 1987, and the first research and extension projects were initiated in 1988. The thirteen states and two territories included in the Southern Region are Alabama, Arkansas, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, North Carolina, Oklahoma, Puerto Rico, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, U.S. Virgin Islands and Virginia.

Follow the link for more information.


From: The Southern Regional Aquaculture Center. “Southern Regional Aquaculture Center.” Accessed June 11, 2013.

  • 1

Was this link helpful?


You must log in to post a response